HOMECOMING 2018  -  October 26th  -  distinguished alumni AWARDS

Join us during Javelina Throwback to Homecoming this year as we induct 5 Distinguished Alumni and 1 Rising Star during the annual Javelina Distinguished Alumni Awards ceremony on the campus of Texas A&M University-Kingsville starting at 5:30pm in the Grand Ballrooms of the Memorial Student Union Building.


This year's Distinguished Alumni honorees are:

James Gandy, Class of 1974, Frisco

James W. Hill, Class of 1968, Los Angeles

Alan Johnson, Class of 1971, Harlingen

Cynthia Lee Vidaurri, Class of 1991, Washington D.C.

Robert H. Welker, Class of 1950, Washington, TX


The Rising Star is:

Manny Salazar III, Class of 2005, Kingsville


Click here to learn more about our 2018 honorees.

Click here to purchase a ticket or table to the event.


ABOUT the Alumni Awards

Javelina alumni and faculty make amazing things happen in the world. Their accomplishments significantly benefit both society and our campus, by inspiring others and providing insight and creativity. Their actions communicate the dynamic excellence of being a Javelina and the importance of service as a component of our philosophy. To celebrate the accomplishments of our alumni and faculty, the Javelina Alumni Association sponsors awards for distinguished alumni, research and teaching.
Distinguished Alumni Award 
The Distinguished Alumni Award is presented to alumni who have demonstrated long-time and successful commitment to their careers and communities and have brought special honor to the university because of their accomplishments.
Rising Star Award
Rising Star Award recognizes graduates of the university who have experienced professional success and who are within 15 years of their graduation from Texas A&M University - Kingsville.


Every year, the Javelina Alumni Association honors faculty who excel in the classroom and in the field. Only two faculty members receive recognition during the Distinguished Alumni Awards ceremony dedicated to celebrate faculty dedication to the university's core values—teaching and research. 
Distinguished Research Award 
Distinguished Research Award is presented to a deserving faculty member who has shown superior scholarship through publication, continued creativity, the research impact on the field, and/or other academic or professional awards. 
Distinguished Teaching Award
Distinguished Teaching Award is presented to a deserving faculty member who has shown excellence, intellectual insights and ability to engage student learning that has life-long impact.